Config 2 support for EFM8 devices

This is my first project with an EFM part and I must say I miss the days of Config2 and my own tool chain. This new SS4 seems to substantially complicate the process of using SiLabs parts for me.

I'm designing a power controller using an EFM8UB2 part instead of a C8051F320.  And that's where things get sideways.  If I had used an F320, I could easily fire up Config2 and check my pinouts to see if they are viable before I commit the board to manufacture.  As we all know, you can't just connect any peripheral to any pin.  You have to go in peripheral order and some peripherals are at set pin locations (VREF, UART0, etc.), you have to skip analog pins and make sure your analog is on port pins that support analog (F70X anyone?), etc, etc.

In this SS4, I literally can't even find the tool to setup the hardware config for an EFM8UB2.  No, I don't have a development board attached.  Why would I?  I don't need training wheels for 8051 development. At least not until this junk was foisted upon me.  How can I add a device to even work with this thing.  It auto-detects my debug adapter but I can't see where I can just drop an MCU I want to use into the Devices list and run a configuration on it.  Is this SS4 perhaps ... NEW.  Am I testing development software for SiLabs now?

When I push the button on the main screen to create a New Project, it tells me I have to select a device first and then drops me back at the beginning.  If I create a new project from the File menu, THEN it runs a wizard that lets me select my target device and tool chain.  Still, I see no way to configure the pinout for the device.

Is there a way to configure the pinout of a device (without resorting to paper and pencil) without having the Demo board attached or code ready to compile?  Yes, I'm looking for Config2 functionality prior to having the board built ... that's all.  Can SS4 not do this anymore?  

Re: Config 2 support for EFM8 devices