Highlighted

Most Frustrating Hardware Ever (Si4010 Keyfob Dev Kit)

[ Edited ]

I'm a reasonably decent programmer now coming off the Arduino platform and coming to this has been nothing but frustrating over the last few days.

Between overtly-technical/unclear datasheets and kit documentation, and the lack of clear answers in the community forums, I can't even load a basic example following the instructions in the documentation or from the forums.

I did exactly what is said in the documentation: install Silicon Labs Simplicity IDE, integrate Keil toolchain, open .wsp file for keyfob_demo2 and when I try to run/burn the program to the DKPB434 development board, and there is ZERO selectable options to burn/compile/run. Forget about debugging too, it just gives me a "Unable to Launch: the selection cannot be launched, and there are no recent launches" error. I also tried to download your 8-bit microcontroller IDE and the installer just fails and says "find another installer."

It says in the datasheet these demos are pre-compiled, well then why won't they run? And why does your Simplicity Suite not support your own product? (Si4010) You can select every other kit and load demos, but with Si4010 you have to do some roundabout way to get it to work? Why don't you just stop making it if you don't want to support it in your own software? You made something and then practically threw it in the garbage can for everyone and said "here, you guys figure it out..." That's like making a cake recipe and saying "this cake is the GREATEST cake recipe in the world, its vanilla but with the push of a button, can become chocolate or a combination of both! WARNING, this isn't supported with our oven kit you purchased, you'll need to figure out how to bake it, we hear blowtorches work, try that, good luck and go SiLabs!"