August 2016 Member Spotlight: hollie

by Administrator Nari ‎08-18-2016 10:01 AM - edited ‎08-18-2016 10:02 AM

We are featuring one of the Silicon Labs Community members who is active or new in the community on a monthly basis to help members connect with each other.

Meet our July member of the month: hollie

0,17,640,640.jpg

Q: Congrats on becoming our featured member of the month! Can you introduce yourself to our community members?

Thanks, I’m honored to be featured! I’m Lieven Hollevoet, located in Belgium. 

I’ve been interested in engineering since childhood. I vividly remember the many devices that I disassembled to get to know what made them tick. Re‐assembly was a challenge and a learning experience too. I’m still sorry about my sisters’ fancy alarm clock that proved a too big challenge for me that time :-).

Then I discovered electronics around my 12’s and I started building kits. That evolved into making my own circuit designs. Of course I studied electronics after high school.

I started my career at the research institute imec working in the wireless system department where we designed power‐efficient ASICs for next- generation high‐speed standards. During that time, we also had cooperation with local SME’s to assist them in bringing new technology into their existing products.

In 2012 an ex‐colleague from imec and me started our own company ‘Quicksand’ where we design low power electronics. Typical examples are devices that need to operate a long time on a single battery charge. We already have a track record of a few challenging projects like a wearable personal communicator for elderly, a smart water valve/meter combination, and various sensor devices.

As part of our quest for low‐power solutions, we have also built up quite some experience with a low‐power wide area communication solution called Sigfox.

Q: How did you know about the Silicon Labs Community?