Reply
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎06-13-2017

Zigbee on dual band EFR32

Hello All

Currently I am running Zigbee over 2.4Ghz for the range test. I would like to switch from 2.4Ghz to Sub-GHz radio antenna for further tests (the chip EFR32MG12P433 is capable of dual band communication). Apart from hardware matching circuit, is there anything I need to do with software to allow Zigbee to be re-routed to Sub-Ghz antenna?

<a href="http://community.silabs.com/t5/Welcome-and-Announcements/Community-Ranking-System-and-Recognition-Program/m-p/140490#U140490"><font color="#000000"><font size="2">Hero</font></font> </a> YK
Posts: 225
Registered: ‎02-13-2017

Re: Zigbee on dual band EFR32

  I don't think a Sub-GHz radio antenna would give good performance to 2.4Ghz application. Why do you want to do this?

If my reply answers your question, please click on "Kudo"s or "Accept as Solution"s to benefit others who have the same issue.

YK Chen
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎06-13-2017

Re: Zigbee on dual band EFR32

Hello YK, thank you for your reply. 

The primary reason for switching from 2.4GHz to Sub-G is we want further communication range. According to our experiment, the 2.4GHz Zigbee can reach around 30M indoor with 19dBm output power. I would expect better penetration for lower frequency Zigbee. 

<a href="http://community.silabs.com/t5/Welcome-and-Announcements/Community-Ranking-System-and-Recognition-Program/m-p/140490#U140490"><font color="#000000"><font size="2">Hero</font></font> </a> YK
Posts: 225
Registered: ‎02-13-2017

Re: Zigbee on dual band EFR32

But EFR32 use 2.4G and you connect it to a sub-GHz antenna which is totally not reasonable.

If my reply answers your question, please click on "Kudo"s or "Accept as Solution"s to benefit others who have the same issue.

YK Chen
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎06-13-2017

Re: Zigbee on dual band EFR32

Hello YK. The part we are using is EFR32MG12P433, as specified in datasheet (https://www.silabs.com/products/wireless/mesh-networking/efr32mg-mighty-gecko-zigbee-thread-soc/devi...), the chip itself has six radio output pins, which is capable of running Zigbee on both 2.4Ghz(CH11-26) and 868Mhz(CH1-10). This is where my question comes from. I couldn't see anywhere in the code that I can specify which radio module I am going to use. 

Highlighted
<a href="http://community.silabs.com/t5/Welcome-and-Announcements/Community-Ranking-System-and-Recognition-Program/m-p/140490#U140490"><font color="#000000"><font size="2">Hero</font></font> </a> YK
Posts: 225
Registered: ‎02-13-2017

Re: Zigbee on dual band EFR32

I don't think emberZNet support sub-GHz.

If my reply answers your question, please click on "Kudo"s or "Accept as Solution"s to benefit others who have the same issue.

YK Chen