CP 2120 Sending I2C commands

Hi,

I am currently exploring the feasibility of using the CP2120 for I2C communication with an external EEPROM. I have tried to type some commands for writing bytes on the I2C busses, but I can't see anything on the scope. I'm also using the GPIO for controlling two external multiplexers, and his works fine. I'm either typing wrong I2C commands, or there must be something wrong in my firmware.

Questions:

#1. I have very little experience with programming communication protocols. I'm therefore wondering whether I need to set up some internal registers on the CP2120 in order to get the I2C to work. I suppose I have to set the clock speed for the I2C clock, but do I need to set the I2C Time Out register, I2C Address or other registers?

#2. To type a single I2C command, the datasheet says:

SPI Master: [Command, Num Bytes, Slave Address +W, Data Byte1, ..., Data Byte N] 

Is this all I need to send a simple I2C command?

The datasheet for the EEPROM states that "A write operation requires two 8-bit data word addresses following the device address word and acknowledgement." The device address consists of a mandatory one, zero sequence for the first four MSBs (10101 xxxx). The LSB is a R/W (R=1, W=0) bit and the remaining three bits are for device addressing. I therefore tried to type the following i2c command:

spi_write(0x00,0x03,0xA2,[0x55,0x10])

Command: 0x00

Num Bytes: 0x03

Slave Address: 0xA2

Data byte 1: 0x55

Data byte 2: 0x10

Does anyone know what I'm doing wrong?

Re: CP 2120 Sending I2C commands

Hi @VegardMidt,

Is there a particular reason why you are not just using a SPI EEPROM?

I'm therefore wondering whether I need to set up some internal registers on the CP2120 in order to get the I2C to work. I suppose I have to set the clock speed for the I2C clock, but do I need to set the I2C Time Out register, I2C Address or other registers?