Highlighted
Accepted Solution

BLE113 or BGM111

[ Edited ]

I am starting new project for industrial application. The device must work for six months/one year with battery supply. For my small quantities (50/100 pcs/year) I must use a precertified module.

My first choice was the BLE113 fully certified module with lots of documents and support

but I see also the new BGM111

I am a newbie with bluegiga modules, with which of the two modules should I start thinking about an availability for at least the next eight years.
The estimate production date is near end of 2016. When the BG111 module will be certified?

thanks

Diego

Re: BLE113 or BGM111

Hi,

The BLE113 and BGM111 are quite difference products with difference capabilities. Are you going to use the module to run the application? How much range do you need (BLE113 has shorter range)?

Regards,

Tiago

Thanks for reply tmonte

Yes, the application run on module It is a simple classical application: every second the module read three analogs inputs and send the measured values to master device using RF. The max distance is 10/20 meters indoor but in harsh environment (steelworks furnace)

I have worked with Cortex M4 I have also a licensed IAR compiler updated periodically, and I think I have the necessary for working with BGM111 but the problems are:
certifications ?
Technical data (For example: in the BGM111 datasheet the current consumption (table 9.7 and 9.8 pg.17) are filled with TBD for all operation state, how estimate the battery life ?)

The BLE113 is a mature product with a lots of info. For writing the module application I have to study the scripting language but I think is not a big problem.

But if after 1 or 2 years silbas stop the BLE113 production... I lost my time...

[ Edited ]

Hello,

from your post I get the impression that you think you need to use C / IAR compiler to develop with BGM111. This is not the case, you can write BGScript applications for both BLE113 and BGM111.