Did the Keil Debugger break my MCU?

I compiled a program using Keil Microvision 5, and programmed the generated hex file onto a C8051F385 MCU using the Silabs Flash Programming Utility and the Silabs USB debug adapter. The program worked as expected in circuit (I have LEDs on the board to indicate the program status). Then I tried to use the Keil debugging tool to look at the code execution. The code seemed not to work in this mode and wouldn't reach my breakpoints at the very first instruction. After I was done, I tried reprogramming the board in the normal way, and now I see no response from the MCU in circuit.

I'm trying to understand what Keil could have changed about the MCU and how to reverse it if possible. I'm new to MCU programming and am confused about what changes outside the programming hex file are possible and could cause my MCU to become unresponsive. I would greatly appreciate any help in this matter or pointers to any resources relevant to my situation.

Thank you for your attention.

Re: Did the Keil Debugger break my MCU?

The program worked as expected in circuit

Then I tried to use the Keil debugging tool to look at the code execution. The code seemed not to work in this mode 

After I was done, I tried reprogramming the board in the normal way, and now I see no response from the MCU in circuit.

at some time between 1) and 2) something in your source changed

erik

Or the MCU accidently got locked. Try unlocking it by doing a full erase.

I've tried the "Erase Code Space" in my Flash Utility, and I've tried various archived programming files that have worked before, but with the same result. Are there any registers that could affect the functioning of the MCU outside of Code Space?

My debugger shows the disassembly as entirely 0xFF instructions until the program begins at address 0x1400. However, the MCU only gets through about address 0x0BB0 (this number seems to vary) before resetting to the beginning of program memory.