Highlighted
Accepted Solution

Change Start Adress for C8051

Hi

I am new in Silicon labs MCU. I did a MCU project of C8051F340 and I am looking to change the start address of my application. I saw that there is an option of use a custom Linker script in settings; however, I couldn't find an example of a linker script in the folder 8051. 

My question is how can I change the space and address of memory for my app in Simplicity IDE. I need it because I want to put a Bootloader that call to my application code. 

My debug and release folder don't have .ld and I think that is for that I am using a Keil 8051 tool

Re: Change Start Adress for C8051

[ Edited ]

1) you can't change the start address it is hardware defined

2) by using relocate http://www.keil.com/support/docs/189.htm you generate code that assumes another address bank for interrupt vectors and start DO note that just willy nilly doing this will put jumps in the hardware vector sector

lots of info on bootloaders

http://www.silabs.com/support/resources.p-microcontrollers_8-bit-mcus?query=bootloader

erik
<a href="http://community.silabs.com/t5/Welcome-and-Announcements/Community-Ranking-System-and-Recognition-Program/m-p/140490#U140490"><font color="#000000"><font size="2">Hero</font></font> </a> jmg

... I did a MCU project of C8051F340 and I am looking to change the start address of my application. 

..I need it because I want to put a Bootloader that call to my application code. 

You might want to look at the EFM8UB2, which has bootloader included.

There is also Silabs source code for EFM8 boot loaders, and that shows how to manage boot offsets for the loader itself.

Also note, the EFM8 series have a special exit reset to boot code feature, so that you do not need to modify your 0-based code when loading via boot.

here is the UART ASM start-boot decision tree..

; Bootloader entry point (boot_vector)
    RSEG    ?BL_START
?C_STARTUP:
    USING   0