Busy Bee data logger project using Peripheral Driver Library

[ Edited ]

I’m a new college grad working for Silicon Labs, and I’m currently rotating through each business unit to get a holistic understanding of our product line.  I recently completed my rotation through the Microcontroller group, where I was tasked to write a temperature data logger for Busy Bee, part of the new line of EFM8 MCUs.  The goal of the project was to compare temperature data collected from the temperature internal to the Busy Bee against the Si7013 temperature sensor on the Sensor EXP board,  and to display the data on the on board LCD. 

I had some previous experience developing with Silicon Labs’ EFM32 MCUs from my internship with Silicon Labs and from my senior design project in school, but minimal exposure to Silicon Labs’ 8 bit MCUs.  Developing on EFM32 was a mostly painless process, as I was able to make high level function calls using emlib, Silicon Labs’ complete C function library used to manage peripherals and core functions, as opposed to writing code at a register level.

Since I had never developed with EFM8, I started where any newbie would look and opened some sample code.  I found sample data logger code for Sleepy Bee, which logs temperature data from the on board Si7021 temperature sensor.  My project called to collect temperature data from Busy Bee, so I figured I would use the Sleepy Bee data logger project as a starting point, and then port the project over to Busy Bee.