Printf break

[ Edited ]

Hey guys i am new to simplicity studio and was n trying to print out some sensor values .

So i have a print statement that i have redirected using retarget serial.c. 

while{
printf("here\n");
}

But when i connect to  a serial port and go i get the following output on my terminal

here

here

here

here

here

he"

after this it randomly stops and spurts out random characters . I paused the program using the debugger and noticed it stopped at  while (!(usart->STATUS & USART_STATUS_TXBL)) in uart_tx

Any suggestions on how may i proceed with this?

i need it to continuosly print out sensor readings

thank you

Re: Printf break

Since the program will spend most of its time waiting in that loop, it is not surprising that you break there.

Do you maybe have a watchdog biting or some other reset cause? It could make the serial data train hicup and get out of sync. I suspect the data comes continously without inter-character delays.

Re: Printf break ; Problems with uartdrv

So i took a logic analyser to see exactly what was being sent . The first chunk of data that was sent was labelled as a frame error but following the the rest of the data was being sent continuosly and was being detected by the logic analyser. But the terminal on my computer doesnt display anything. So i tried another approach using uartdrv  provided in the mighty gecko software documentation.

#include "uartdrv.h"

// Define receive/transmit operation queues
DEFINE_BUF_QUEUE(EMDRV_UARTDRV_MAX_CONCURRENT_RX_BUFS, rxBufferQueue);
DEFINE_BUF_QUEUE(EMDRV_UARTDRV_MAX_CONCURRENT_TX_BUFS, txBufferQueue);

// Configuration for USART0, location 11
#define MY_UART \
{ \
USART0, \
115200, \
_USART_ROUTELOC0_TXLOC_LOC11, \
_USART_ROUTELOC0_RXLOC_LOC11, \
usartStopbits1, \
usartNoParity, \
usartOVS16, \
false, \
uartdrvFlowControlHwUart, \
gpioPortA, \
4, \
gpioPortA, \
5, \
(UARTDRV_Buffer_FifoQueue_t *)&rxBufferQueue, \
(UARTDRV_Buffer_FifoQueue_t *)&txBufferQueue, \