Reply
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-04-2017
Accepted Solution

Debug

Hello, 

I have a problem with my kit EFM32 Zero Gecko.
I've tried everything and I can not solve...It always worked well until this happened in the following photo:
 
Screen Shot 10-04-17 at 09.53 PM.PNG
I can not debug anything... I already tried another computer and it also does not work, same error.
Does anyone know how to solve this problem?
Thanks
Posts: 343
Registered: ‎03-03-2015

Re: Debug

Is the J-Link debugger set to MCU mode?  Is the power switch set to AEM?  Have you run any code that puts the device in low power mode or disables the oscillators?

 

Regards,

Joe

Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-04-2017

Re: Debug

Hello,

Sory but I'm new to these subjects...

"Is the J-Link debugger set to MCU mode?  Is the power switch set to AEM?"

How i can check this 2 things ?

 

The pin in the board is in DBG.

 

" Have you run any code that puts the device in low power mode or disables the oscillators? "

Maybe... was experiencing the interruptions and EM modes.

I was editing my program and every once in a while I'd send it to the board, at a certain moment this error appears in the photo.

 

Unfortunately I deleted the code I had written.

 

Best regards

Posts: 343
Registered: ‎03-03-2015

Re: Debug

You can set the debugger to MCU from the Simplicity Launcher perspective.  The power switch is on the lower left corner of the board.  If it is set to USB or Battery, and that power source is not available (no battery, or USB cable unplugged) that could leave the device unpowered and thus not responsive to the debugger.  See the attached pictures for reference.

 

Regards,

Joe

Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-04-2017

Re: Debug

Thanks for the attached pictures. 

Well, my board is different, i take some pictures for you to see, it is more easy.

 

Best Regards

Posts: 343
Registered: ‎03-03-2015

Re: Debug

Your switch setting is correct, I just realized the picture I sent you is a Happy Gecko STK, not a Zero Gecko (they are very similar).  Is your code using any low power modes?  Are you able to erase the device using the flash programmer?

 

Regards,

Joe

Posts: 3,158
Registered: ‎02-07-2002

Re: Debug

May I suggest to inline pictures instead of attaching them? Anyone who wants to see them, first has to download them and then open in some external program. And my Download directory is littering with all these useless downloads.

Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-04-2017

Re: Debug

"Is your code using any low power modes? "

Yes, I was editing something like this:

int main(void)
{
// Chip errata
CHIP_Init();

// Initializations
initGPIO();

while (1){
// Enter Low Energy Mode until an interrupt occurs
EMU_EnterEM3(false);
}
}

 

"Are you able to erase the device using the flash programmer?"

I believe so, How do I do this?

 

Best Regards

Highlighted
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-04-2017

Re: Debug

Its works again Robot Happy

Thank you for the tips.

The solution is to go Flash Programmer, and next Unlock Debug Access.

 

Best Regards