Accepted Solution

Correct ADC configuration for joystick?

I am trying to get the joystick working on the BRD8006A expansion board. I have configured the ADC as follows:

Screen Shot 2017-09-07 at 23.13.47.png

Screen Shot 2017-09-07 at 23.13.59.png

Reading ADC:

ADC_Start(ADC0, adcStartSingle);
while ((ADC0->IF & ADC_IF_SINGLE) == 0)
 ;

/* Get ADC single result */
uint32_t sample = ADC_DataSingleGet(ADC0);

The value of sample ranges from 55190 (center) to 65218 (no input)

The problem is that SW and SE are indistinguishable, both around 65114. Both vary while being held in that position. Am I doing something wrong?

Re: Correct ADC configuration for joystick?

Hi @nickb,

Have you looked at the schematic for BRD8006A? It actually lists the voltages you should expect to read in each direction.

John

Sure. I am new to the platform though. I don't know the best settings for the ADC to read those voltages. The ADC readings I am getting from the current configuration do not provide enough accuracy to differentiate between SE and SW.

Couple of other things:

1. What STK are you using?
  2. Why are you oversampling? You don't need oversampling to use the joystick, so just try single 8- or 12-bit conversions for now.

John

Sure. I am new to the platform though. I don't know the best settings for the ADC to read those voltages. The ADC readings I am getting from the current configuration do not provide enough accuracy to differentiate between SE and SW.

BRD4001A rev A01. Not sure if that's the code you are looking for.

I'm using oversampling because I couldn't differentiate between readings for SE and SW.

Oversampling doesn't really help, as the samples from SE and SW still vary and overlap. Without oversampling the readings for SE and SW are both around 4070.

check the voltage output of joystick with multimeter to confirm if this is firmware issue.
WeiguoLu